what is confidence?

Before I started writing this post I sat down and thought of a number of people I could ask to read it before I submitted it to the wider world.  After all, this is my first blog post here, and I wanted to be sure that it looked right and conveyed the message I wanted to convey in the right way.  Then it suddenly occurred to me, here I was writing a post about confidence, and yet I didn’t feel confident submitting it for public scrutiny until someone had at least read it first. And it was that thought process that gave me the opening I needed for this first post.

When you think about being confident, what do you think?  Do you think of yourself as being a confident or unconfident person?  Or maybe you actually don’t think about it in terms of confidence, but ability.  So when you think about what you want to do, the thing that holds you back is how you feel about it, i.e. whether you think you can actually do the thing you want or not.

Confidence is not about what you can do, it’s about what *you* think about what you can do.  You can be the best in the world at what you do, but if you lack the confidence, you won’t come across as the best.  Equally though, if you are a confident person, you don’t necessarily have to be the best at what you do, if you do it confidently, you will do it well.

One of the greatest barriers that stops us achieving the things we want to achieve is lack of confidence.  We think we can’t do something, therefore we don’t.  And while this could also be put down to a limiting belief, having the confidence to challenge that belief and to do what you want is powerful.

So think about the things you would like to do, and ask yourself, what is holding you back from doing them?

2 thoughts on “what is confidence?

  1. Excellent first post, Claire.
    It certainly made me think and I could identify with a lot of what you havr written.
    I look forward to reading your next post and wish you every success in your new venture.
    xxx

  2. Hi Claire, Great approach! You really make me thinking about that stuff! You explored different perspectives of confidence and gave me a new angle to look at it. What I realized recently is: if we are looking for perfection – we will never be ready to do what we dream to do. We have to have a courage to make a step and give it a go. Experience leads to the next step and reveal and make our dreams real.
    Thanks Claire!!!
    looking forward to reading your next blog!

Leave a Reply

